• Awards
  • News

Betsson wins 2 Awards at IGA 2023

Betsson wins the Sports Betting Operator of the Year Award and Safer Gambling Award at the International Gaming Awards

Betsson has walked away with 2 highly contested awards, ‘Sports Betting Operator of the Year’ and ‘Safer Gambling’ at the prestigious International Gaming Awards (IGA) which were held yesterday, Monday evening in London. These awards recognise and celebrate the best companies within the iGaming industry, including online operators, land-based casinos, suppliers, providers, or manufacturers.


Safer Gambling Award

Safer Gambling is a very important cornerstone in Betsson’s entire operations. This critical award recognises companies that have done more than ever to ensure the safety from problem gambling for their customers. The judges looked at things such as advancement in age verification technology, support for those recognised to have problem gambling issues, safeguards in problem gambling and strong KYC procedures. Judges also considered how the company have been part of the discussions around safer gambling and campaigned for advancement in research, as well as the extra effort and focus the company gives to understanding and resolving problem gambling within the industry. This is not the first time that Betsson has won this award – it also won the same category at the International Gaming Awards (IGA) of 2022, 2021 and 2019. Therefore, Betsson has won this award for the fourth time!


Sports Betting Operator of the Year

For Betsson to win this category, judges looked deeper into the definition of what usually is looked at. Besides simply looking at the operator in the sports arena that has shown to lead the field, the deciding factors by judges when awarding this very special category were not only in capacity of customers, but also the originality of betting, including mobile and tablet customers while offering a high level of customer service including importantly telephone service and online with marketing of the product, usability and growth. The range of sports betting was also an important factor to who will be decided as the winner in this highly competitive category.


For an entire list of awards that Betsson Group has won during the past years, click here.